Hello world!

September 20, 2008

Hi. I’m checking out this new loft space to see how it feels. Still have Laurie’s Loft, but had to close the “comments” function because of that intrusive and parasitic phenomenon in our online culture called SPAM. It’s been nice and quiet, but I miss hearing the legitimate voices of my visitors. So welcome to my new and expanded-for-comments loft.

Why a loft? Because I’m an introvert and I like having a hideout. But also because I like to have a vantage point. And I think of a loft as a cozy but also hip and casual place where we can drink tea and color in coloring books if we want. If you haven’t done the latter lately, I highly recommend it. There is nothing more relaxing than sitting on the floor with a box of 64 or more Crayola colors and a coloring book filled with nice, simple drawings. The boundaries are clear, the task is finite and the results are tangible. Try it soon.

Hope you enjoy visiting.

Best, Laurie

2 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Katy Brown said

    YES! The hideout. We turned Ava’s walk-in closet into a “club house” for her, and what I would have done to have had that when I was a child! It’s painted the wildest shade of pink she could have chosen, but there are mounds of blankets and throw pillows, beanbag chairs, stuffed animals, and dolls, dolls, dolls. It’s cozy and warm, and she likes to go inside and read her favorite books. It’s not off limits to mom and dad or little sister, Maryn, but it is her special place and I’m more than happy to share my closet space with her so she can have that “loft” to herself.

    Introverts have great fun — they just don’t tell anyone! 🙂

  2. Cathestark said

    Hi Laurie-Just picked up your book “Introvert Power” today at the local library. I will add it to my own library as soon as possible. I was raised as an extrovert so a lot of this is new to me. I know my therapist will love this book too!
    So how do you recover your introverted self when you were raised as an extrovert ? Any thoughts ? Cathe Stark

Leave a Reply

